ISO 9001:2015 (Quality Management Systems Requirements)

The ISO 9001 Quality Management System Group of Standards consists of international standards, representing a guide to the development and implementation of an effective quality management system. Regardless of the specifics of the products, these standards are applicable in both manufacturing and service sectors. ISO 9001: 2008 is based on eight principles of quality management:

  • Focus on customers
  • Leadership
  • People’s involvement
  • Procedural approach
  • System approach
  • Continuous improvement
  • Making decisions based on facts
  • Interconnection with suppliers

ISO 22000 Food Safety Management Systems, September 2005

ISO 22000 is a global standard for food safety management systems throughout the supply chain, from manufacturers, processors and packaging, transport and sales. It also covers non-food products and services such as cleaning and equipment manufacturers and can be used by organizations of any size. ISO 22000 sets the requirements for food safety management system, which includes communication, system management and pre-requisite programs. The standard focuses on securing the supply chain – whether the principles of the management system are in place and whether they are in line with the Codex Alimentarius HACCP principles.

Global Standard for Food Safety, Issue 7: January 2015

British Retail Consortium (BRC) creates a global food standard to establish a single common standard for assessing companies that supply the chains with branded foods. It is designed to help business chains fulfill legal obligations as well as to ensure the highest level of customer protection. Although developed in the UK, the standard is recognized internationally.
The requirements of the BRC include the requirements of HACCP and ISO 9001 are audited by fixed schedule checks and inspections of individual components of the control system of production.
The BRC standard is recognized by the Global Food Safety Initiative (GFSI), a program that seeks to harmonize international food safety standards with the support of the world’s largest retailers and food producers.

International Food Standard (IFS), Version 7, October 2020

International Standard IFS (International Featured Standard) is developed in order to provide a basis for auditing the manufacturers who produce under the so-called “private” trademarks (Private Labels). IFS includes elements of HACCP , ISO 9001, good manufacturing and hygiene practices. The certification scheme is developed on the basis of EN 45011 and, according to the agreement reached with the leading accreditation bodies, the sole accreditation body is the headquarters of the German retailers HDE (Hauptverband often Deutschen Einzelhandels) based in Frankfurt. The idea of ​​IFS is to regulate in practice all aspects of an audit. Unlike other similar standards, besides the requirements of the certified organization, there are also requirements for the certification organization and the auditors, a detailed system for evaluation and numerical expression of the audit results has been developed, and requirements for the structure and content of the audit reports are set.


With the increase in use of palm oil in food production, concerns have also arisen about the sustainability of its cultivation and its impact on local populations. Thus, in 2004, a group of leading stakeholders and non-governmental organizations formed the Sustainable Palm Oil Round Table (RSPO) to create a model for responsible management of palm oil plantations.
RSPO is an organization that brings together the seven key groups related to palm oil production: producers, processors or traders, consumer goods producers, traders, banks and investors, environmental and social NGOs. RSPO is based on basic principles and criteria:

  • Compliance with local and international laws and regulations
  • Demonstrated commitment to long-lasting economic and financial variability
  • Use of good agricultural practices by farmers and millers
  • Responsibility to the environment, including conservation of natural resources and biodiversity
  • Responsible attitude towards workers and communities affected by cultivation or production
  • Responsible management of new plantings
  • Commitment to continuous improvement

RSPO certification is supported and maintained by RSPO members and participants in many different environments, including plantations, processors and merchants, end-product producers and retailers, financial institutions, NGOs.

Check our progres on www.rspo.org.


In recent years, consumers have become more and more involved in the food they consume. They want to know that it is produced in a responsible way that does not harm the environment and does not exploit the workforce. Standards for responsible production and supply of coffee, cocoa and tea are included in the UTZ Certified program.
UTZ Certified supports sustainable farming and better opportunities for farmers and the environment itself. The certification program allows manufacturers to apply good farming practices, improved working conditions and generally making their lifestyle better. UTZ , which means “good” in the Mayan language , provides standards in the social and environmental quality of coffee, tea and cocoa production. UTZ standard is applied throughout the supply chain and determines the criteria and mechanisms it controls to guarantee a good traceability of the products. This creates confidence in the claims of sustainability and recognizability the significance of the UTZ logo.